Harry Potter revisited

February 26, 2009 at 3:24 pm 8 comments

hp-covers

Remember when they had to create “adult” covers for the Harry Potter books because grown-ups wanted to read them but were embarrassed to be reading a “kid’s” book?  Too bad they didn’t go straight to M.S. Corley, an artist who recently re-imagined the covers to all 7 Harry Potter books. 

1_the_philosophers_stone

 The first book is my favorite cover – I would totally read that book! 

Cover art has a lot to do with why we choose the books we read and while there’s always the good book with a bad cover to prove the old adage, “Don’t judge a book by its cover,” here in the real world we know that if we don’t want to pick it up, we’re never gonna get as far as reading it.

Check out Corley’s blog for a lot more fun book inspired art!

What do you think – would these HP covers make you more, or less likely to read the 7 book series?

Entry filed under: Books, Check it out!. Tags: , .

Summer of Opportunity Swing Dancing!

8 Comments

  • 1. esodhiambo  |  February 26, 2009 at 6:26 pm

    Since I have not yet read Harry Potter, I would be more likely if these were the covers. Covers DO make a big difference. I wonder how much control authors have over them?

  • 2. maplewoodya  |  February 26, 2009 at 7:02 pm

    Oh, I read enough author blogs to know, 99% of the time, authors have NO control over the cover art on their books. Seems crazy, but it’s true. That’s the right of the publishing house. But I did go to a book conference where Lois Lowry was the keynote speaker, and she said at this point in her career, she does get a say, and that creepy guy on the cover of The Giver was all her.

  • 3. Amy  |  February 26, 2009 at 8:17 pm

    While these covers are cool, I would be less likely to read them. I am so used to the other cover art, these look more like cheesy sci-fi books to me. They remind me of the book covers I read in the early 90’s. They look dated. Or I should say “retro” to make them cool, I guess. I’m torn.

  • 4. Sun Yi  |  February 26, 2009 at 10:39 pm

    I’m a huge Potter fan. In fact, I won a copy of The Tales of Beedle the Bard, Collector’s Edition.

    See it here http://www.jroller.com/bookreview/entry/the_tales_of_beedle_the

  • 5. esodhiambo  |  February 27, 2009 at 4:49 pm

    They DO look more adult.

  • 6. Erin  |  March 5, 2009 at 7:35 pm

    I think they’re really cool. It’s hard to rethink something that is already so iconic and recognizable as Harry Potter, so I give her lots of credit for her imagination on that. I dig ’em.

  • 7. Meg  |  March 14, 2009 at 1:25 am

    I like these covers much better. And being one among those who would sometimes rather not be seen reading Harry Potter, that’s always a plus too. One of the reasons I always preferred the British covers.

  • 8. cathykyle  |  March 18, 2009 at 7:27 pm

    I really like these covers too! I read the first couple Harry Potter books and the enthusiasm died for me. I’ve been meaning to give them another chance, maybe now I can. 🙂


Maplewood Hours

MONDAY: 11:30 am - 7:00 pm TUESDAY: 11:30 am - 7:00 pm WEDNESDAY: 11:30 am - 7:00 pm THURSDAY: 11:30 am - 7:00 pm FRIDAY: 11:30 am - 5:30 pm SATURDAY: 10:00 am - 2:00 pm
February 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728  

